Next-Gen Gamer

Your #1 Blog for all Next-Gen Console News!

Crippled European PS3?

Posted by Jay on Wednesday, March 14, 2007

Before you guys go off and call me a Sony fanboy, let me tell you that I am not. I criticize Sony for their mistakes as much as the next guy. However, I do support the system and I do think it is right to stick up for the PS3 when people are getting worked up over nothing.

Ok, so I was going through my RSS feeds, and EVERY single gaming blog that I went to had coverage of the European PS3 being “crippled”. For those of you who haven’t heard (which is highly unlikely), the Inquirer got hold of a PAL PS3, which of course will support software backwards compatibility. They tested 12 PS2 games and only one, Eragon, worked. This set off a mass hysteria of panic and calling Sony liars, you know, the usual bashing.

Let me clear things up a little bit. PAL PS3’s came 3 to 4 weeks before launch. They came with the current firmware, which is 1.5. Now, Sony has promised that their support for 1000+ PS2 titles will come with the 1.6 firmware update. 1.5, 1.6…see the difference? Of course the PS3 is not going to support any PS2 games because well, it doesn’t have the software to. I’m surprised that even Eragon worked. Fact of the matter is, backwards compatibility will be here come the European launch. Whether or not we will truly have 1000 PS2 games supported, we’ll find out next week.

This news came out this morning and I still see blogs posting it, without even mention of the 1.6 firmware. I know my fellow bloggers are just trying to spread news (or more hatred for the PS3 😉 ), but please, provide all the facts before posting something.

Leave a Reply

 
